Examples: Approaches and projects pursued by the startport startups.

The entire logistics industry faces a number of immense challenges at many different levels: The search is on for innovative solutions for digitally-controlled supply chains and connected modality and automation, as well as ideas for reducing energy and fuel consumption against the background of climate change. Our startups are working to address these challenges. Below is some information about the background, approaches and projects of our “pioneers”:

innoSEP

innoSEP GmbH, based in Hanover, develops technical forecast models for Industry 4.0.
The business is based on a self-developed data analysis kit which forecasts the service life of high-performance components with the aid of machine learning. The innoSEP kit uses existing data from the production process such as temperature or pressure. innoSEP thus detects vulnerabilities and makes valuable assessments of the durability of machines. The data helps to avoid outages, define the absolute best time for maintenance and extend the service life of components. Product development processes, for example for machines in the automotive or wind industries, are optimised in this way.

To the website

myGermany

Transnational trade is a difficult matter for German online traders– despite being the world export champion. Customs restrictions, export declaration and approvals often inhibit delivery abroad.

The myGermany GmbH team offers an all-round package for processing shipments of German products abroad. From their foundation location in Weimar, they handle the entire shipment process: from the correct packaging and consolidation to dealing with customs formalities and handling goods routes abroad.
So far, myGermany GmbH has been completely financed from equity capital and the team already consists of 10 people.

Their vision: their own button for shipment abroad on every German online shop. Unrestricted goods trade.

To the website

Re:charge

Why does an electric vehicle come to the charging point and not vice versa?
The Re:charge team wants to counteract the sparse charging infrastructure with a flexible and decentralised charging station.

In addition to the field of e-mobility, the team is working on solutions for the event and film sectors. With their product, they want to offer decentralised energy provision. A high-performance mobile battery system is currently being developed for this in collaboration with universities and companies.

In combination with fixed energy prices, the Re:charge is to be marketed in both the B2B and B2C areas.

To the website

Quicargo

Quicargo from Amsterdam, Netherlands diminishes empty trips of trucks on Europe’s streets. The company connects empty trucks and to any business needing transportation in real time ensuring a more efficient road freight industry while reducing CO2 emissions and congestion on the roads.

Quicargo integrates into the systems of transportation companies and is therefore practicable for both carriers and shippers. Quicargo fills empty trucks on the streets. Especially on the supply side, issues are arising. The margins for carriers are extremely low due to the competition in the market and the lack of drivers.

To the website

Smart Robotic Systems

With SKIDER, Smart Robotic Systems from Dortmund is developing a development and communication platform for unmanned flight systems for the industrial application areas of inspection, logistics and security. SKIDER makes possible industrial drone applications and tailor-made adaptation of drone technology for company-specific processes. SKIDER achieves this by the connection of random sensors and the geo-referencing of incidental sensor data and the integration of the data gained in the downstream processes of customers.

SKIDER is not only the central nervous system of a single drone but equally capable of connecting together drones flying in a swarm and co-ordinating their complex, collaborative tasks.
SKIDER is based on the results of long-term university research by the founders at TU Dortmund University and was developed further into an innovative product as part of an EXIST start-up grant. Previous work has been rewarded with awards such as 4th place at Start2Grow (2016) or the first prize at the BMWi Digital Innovations competition.

To the website

RunR

The Bonn-based RunR platform creates a mobile market place for local retailers with cycle couriers. This means local shops can compete with big e-commerce platforms and be a step ahead of them with their logistics.

Above all, RunR connects young, free-spending in cities with a community of free couriers and local retailers who offer their merchandise online and can deliver it to end customers in the city in under an hour.

This means that customers can buy online spontaneously. Moreover, there is the option not only of having deliveries made to specific addresses but also to the GPS co-ordinates of the respective mobile device.

The aim is to be the logistics provider for a Smart City and lay the foundations for an autonomous, machine-controlled last mile with automated, resource-based task management.

To the website

ViSenSys

The aim of ViSenSys GmbH from Dortmund, which was founded in November 2017, is the development and market establishment of an Intelligent observer. The target group is companies which require a high degree of time and effort for human observation and a correspondingly high need for automation. The multi-camera system and the image processing software precisely analyses the data.

Algorithms from the fields of digital image processing and machine learning automate human observation processes. The use of an intelligent observer either relieves and supports human observers or leads to complete automation.

ViSenSys offers a variable and scalable combination of hardware and software components which either consists of the customer’s camera system or their own camera system.

DB Regio AG and Thyssenkrupp AG have already been acquired as initial customers.

In addition to an Exist start-up grant, the team took third place at the start2grow business plan. The team has also won a place at the Universal Home Accelerator and the first prize, a design service, at the Salon de Créateurs.

To the website

Trailer Dynamics

Trailer Dynamics is a spin-off from RWTH Aachen University and increases the efficiency of tractor-trailers with the aid of a semi-trailer which benefits both its users and the environment. The Newton eTrailer reacts independently to the road behaviour of its coupled tractor unit and supports it with the aid of its integrated drive train.

This is supposed to save fuel and reduce exhaust emissions. The eTrailer is fitted with adaptive aerodynamic applications which allow further fuel savings through reduced aerodynamic drag, particularly on motorways and main roads.

Trailer Dynamics won the New Economy Business Award (Business Plan category) and has already received seed financing of € 600,000.

To the website

Asdro

Asdro performs geophysical surveys and inspections by drone. Asdro produces precise soil profiles with various measurement methods.

Land areas, buildings and structures can be measured accurately to within a centimetre and visualised within a very short space of time and with great precision. Asdro specialises in the use of magnetic sensors.

In future, more drones will fly simultaneously and autonomously. Further geophysical measurement methods such as georadar and electromagnetics will be developed for drones.

Bots4You

The Bots4You GmbH software company develops tailor-made communication tools using artificial intelligence, so-called chatbots, with which you can talk and/or chat.

Due to the structured data generation of the chatbot, Bots4You is able to offer unique applications in the field of analytics in addition to its integrated software solution.

With solution-oriented Chatbot consulting, Bots4You pursues the approach of first demonstrating the potential of artificial intelligence in the sector and then builds on this to work out individual customer use cases for deploying chatbots.

To the website

ForkOn

ForkOn digitalises and optimises fork lift truck fleet management with non-proprietary software. ForkOn reveals the saving potentials of intralogistics processes which use data science.

Some products are moved with fork lift trucks several hundred times as raw materials within production facilities before delivery. So far, no profiles or records of these movements exist. ForkOn’s software deploys data science. ForkOn reveals savings potential in this way.

To the website

Psoido

Psoido safely uncouples pseudonymous data to guarantee its anonymity online. Psoido thus makes the trustful sharing of data possible and thus makes the realisation of new business models and added value between companies possible.

The current dilemma is that pseudonymous data permits differentiated analyses but always betrays its source. Anonymous data can prevent this but differentiated data analyses are then no longer possible.

Psoido uncouples the original identity and the virtual ID on registration of data in order to protect own knowledge in shared data pools and nevertheless permit differentiated data analyses.

To the website

SoundReply

SoundReply is developing a digital trainer together with how.fm and offers digital “supervisors” for manual work processes in production, logistics and service.

The assistant supports above all new employees, trainees and temporary workers step by step with multi-lingual personalised work instructions and operating instructions. Also Alexa-like on the language level in addition to our mobile apps if hands need to remain free for working.

To the website

Tracks

Tracks is developing AI-based predictive fuel management services for road haulage. These help truck fleet operators to save fuel and CO2 emissions. Based on fuel analyses, Tracks 2022 will also offer a platooning service which makes cross-fleet ad-hoc platooning possible on European roads.

The software products offered by Tracks are hardware-independent because they use rFMS data from the already existing telematic systems of the vehicles.

Companies can thus operate any truck fleet regardless of the fleet size, the truck manufacturer and the telematics unit installed.

To the website

Zolitron

Zolitron is a sensor platform which is self-sufficient in terms of energy and communication. With robust sensors, Zolitron picks up environmental data, makes it accessible for infrastructure and logistics processes and analyses it.

Zolitron collects information via its multi-sensors in much the same way as human perception does: movement, temperature, GPS and magnetic fields. In a second step, this raw data is analysed in the Z-Cloud Analytics platform by artificial intelligence with self-learning algorithms much as in the human brain. Micro energy harvesting technology allows the sensors to function for up to ten years maintenance-free and completely without cables and batteries.

To the website

Former startups

Some successful companies have emerged from our startport-batches. Here are our alumni:

Beispielhaft: Ansätze und Projekte der startport-Startups.

Die gesamte Logistik-Branche steht vor großen Herausforderungen auf unterschiedlichsten Ebenen: Gesucht werden innovative Lösungen für digital gesteuerte Lieferketten, vernetzte Modalität, Automatisierung und darüber hinaus Ideen, Energie- und Kraftstoffverbräuche vor dem Hintergrund des Klimawandels zu reduzieren. Unsere Startups arbeiten daran. Hier ein paar Infos über den Hintergrund, die Ansätze und die Projekte unserer „Pioniere“:

innoSEP

Die innoSEP GmbH mit Sitz in Hannover entwickelt technische Prognosemodelle für die Industrie 4.0. Basis des Geschäfts ist ein Daten-Analyse-Baukasten, der mit Hilfe von maschinellem Lernen die Lebensdauer von Hochleistungs-Bauteilen prognostiziert. Er nutzt Daten aus dem Produktionsprozess wie beispielsweise Temperatur oder Druck, erkennt Schwachstellen und trifft Einschätzungen über die Haltbarkeit von Maschinen. Mit den Daten werden Ausfälle vermieden, Zeitpunkte für Wartung optimal festgelegt und die Lebensdauer von Bauteilen verlängert. Prozesse der Produktentwicklung beispielsweise für Maschinen in der Automobil- oder Windindustrie werden so optimiert.

Zur Website

myGermany

Das Team der myGermany GmbH bietet ein Rundumpaket für die Abwicklung von Versendungen deutscher Produkte ins Ausland. Von ihrem Gründungsstandort in Weimar aus wickeln sie den gesamten Versendungsprozess ab: von der fachgerechten Verpackung sowie Konsolidierung, über die Übernahme der Zoll-Formalitäten bis hin zur Abwicklung der Warenwege im Ausland.

Ihre Vision: ein eigener Button zum Versand ins Ausland auf jedem deutschen Online-Shop. Warenhandel grenzenlos.

Zur Website

Re:charge

Warum kommt ein eFahrzeug zum Ladepunkt und nicht umgekehrt?

Das Team von Re:charge will mit einer flexiblen und dezentralen Ladestation der dürftigen Ladeinfrastruktur begegnen.

Neben dem Bereich eMobility arbeitet das Team an Lösungen für die Event- und Filmbranche. Mit ihrem Produkt möchten sie dezentrale Energieversorgung anbieten. Dafür wird aktuell in Kooperationen mit Hochschulen und Unternehmen ein mobiles und leistungsfähiges Batteriesystem entwickelt.

In Kombination mit festen Energiepreisen soll die Re:charge sowohl im B2B als auch im B2C Bereich vermarktet werden.

Zur Website

Quicargo

Das Unternehmen Quicargo aus Amsterdam vermindert Leerfahrten auf den Straßen. Es verbindet in Echtzeit leere Lkw mit jedem Unternehmen, das Transportservices benötigt. Damit gewährleistet Quicargo einen effizienteren Straßengüterverkehr und reduziert gleichzeitig CO2-Emissionen.

Quicargo integriert sich in die Systeme der Transportunternehmen und ist damit sowohl für den Transporteur als auch den Versender gleichzeitig nutzbar. Damit werden Lkw-Leerfahrten reduziert, es schafft Mehr-Einnahmen für Speditionen und eine einfache Transportmöglichkeit für Versender.

Zur Website

Smart Robotic Systems

Smart Robotic Systems aus Dortmund erstellt mit SKIDER eine Entwicklungs- und Kommunikationsplattform für unbemannte Flugsysteme für die industriellen Anwendungsbereiche Inspektion, Logistik und Sicherheit. SKIDER ermöglicht industrielle Drohnenanwendungen und passgenaue Adaption der Drohnentechnologie für unternehmensspezifische Prozesse. SKIDER erreicht dies durch Anbindung beliebiger Sensoren sowie die Geo-Referenzierung anfallender Sensordaten und die Integration der gewonnenen Daten in weiterverarbeitende Prozesse der Kunden.

Zur Website

RunR

Die RunR-Plattform schafft einen mobilen Marktplatz für lokalen Einzelhandel mit Fahrradkurieren. Damit können lokale Geschäfte mit großen E-Commerce-Plattformen mithalten und ihnen bei der Logistik einen Schritt voraus sein.

RunR verbindet junge, konsumfreudige Kunden mit einer Community freier Kuriere und lokalen Einzelhändlern, die ihre Waren online anbieten und diese innerstädtisch in unter einer Stunde zum Endkunden bringen können.

Ziel ist es, der Logistiker für eine Smart City zu sein und mit einer automatisierten, ressourcenbasierten Aufgabenverwaltung den Grundstein für eine autonome, maschinengestützte letzte Meile zu legen.

Zur Website

ViSenSys

Ziel der im November 2017 gegründeten ViSenSys GmbH ist die Entwicklung und Marktetablierung eines Intelligenten Beobachters (IB). Zielgruppe sind Unternehmen mit viel Aufwand für menschliche Beobachtung und dementsprechend hohen Automatisierungsbedarf. Das Multikamerasystem und die bildverarbeitende Software werten die Daten passgenau aus.

Algorithmen aus den Bereichen digitale Bildverarbeitung und maschinelles Lernen automatisieren Prozesse des menschlichen Beobachtens. Der Einsatz eines Intelligenten Beobachters führt zu einer Entlastung und Unterstützung der menschlichen Beobachter oder zu einer vollständigen Automatisierung.

Zur Website

Trailer Dynamics

Trailer Dynamics steigert mithilfe eines Sattelaufliegers die Effizienz von Sattelzügen und wird dadurch zum Vorteil für seine Nutzer und die Umwelt. Der sogenannte Newton eTrailer reagiert eigenständig auf das Fahrverhalten seiner angekoppelten Zugmaschine und unterstützt sie mit Hilfe seines integrierten elektrischen Antriebsstrangs.

Auf diese Weise sollen Treibstoffeinsparungen erzielt und der Schadstoffausstoß reduziert werden. Der eTrailer mit adaptiven aerodynamischen Applikationen ausgestattet, die besonders bei Autobahnfahrten oder auf Landstraßen weitere Kraftstoffeinsparungen durch einen reduzierten Luftwiderstand ermöglichen.

Zur Website

Asdro

Asdro führt geophysikalische Vermessungen und Inspektionen per Drohne durch. Durch verschiedene Messmethoden erstellt Asdro präzise Bodenprofile.

Innerhalb kurzer Zeit und mit großer Präzision können Flächen, Gebäude, Strukturen zentimetergenau eingemessen und visualisiert werden. Asdro ist auf den Einsatz von Magnetiksensoren spezialisiert.

Zukünftig sollen mehrere Drohnen simultan und autonom fliegen. Weitere geophysikalische Messmethoden wie zum Beispiel Georadar, Elektromagnetik sollen auf der Drohne entwickelt werden.

Bots4You

Das Softwareunternehmen Bots4You GmbH entwickelt mit dem Einsatz von Künstlicher Intelligenz maßgeschneiderte digitale Kommunikationstools, mit denen man sprechen und/oder chatten kann, sogenannte Chatbots.

Durch die strukturierte Datengenerierung des Chatbots ist Bots4You in der Lage, zu seiner ganzheitlichen Softwarelösung einzigartige Anwendungen auf dem Gebiet der Analytics anzubieten.

Mit lösungsorientiertem Chatbot Consulting verfolgt Bots4You den Ansatz, zunächst das Potential von künstlicher Intelligenz in der Branche aufzuzeigen, um darauf aufbauend kundenindividuelle Use-Cases für den Einsatz von Chatbots herauszuarbeiten.

Zur Website

ForkOn

ForkOn digitalisiert und optimiert mit einer herstellerunabhängigen Software das Gabelstapler-Flottenmanagement. Durch die Anwendung von Data Science legt ForkOn Einsparungspotentiale von Intralogistik-Prozessen offen.

Produkte werden als Rohstoff innerhalb der Produktion bis zur Auslieferung zum Teil mehrere 100 Male mit Gabelstaplern bewegt. Profile oder eine Erfassung dieser Bewegungen gibt es bisher nicht. Die Software von ForkOn setzt Data Science ein. Damit legt ForkOn Einsparungspotentiale offen.

Zur Website

Psoido

Psoido entkoppelt sicher pseudonyme Daten, um die Online-Anonymität von Daten zu gewährleisten. So macht Psoido vertrauensvolles Teilen von Daten möglich und damit neue Geschäftsmodelle und Mehrwerte zwischen Firmen realisiert werden.

Das aktuelle Dilemma: Pseudonyme Daten erlauben differenzierte Analysen, aber verraten immer ihren Ursprung. Anonyme Daten können letzteres verhindern, damit sind aber keine differenzierten Datenanalysen möglich.

Psoido entkoppelt die originale Identität und die virtuelle ID bei der Registrierung von Daten, um eigenes Knowhow in geteilten Datenpools zu schützen und trotzdem differenzierte Datenanalysen zu erlauben.

Zur Website

SoundReply

SoundReply entwickelt mit how.fm einen digitalen Trainer und bietet digitale „Vorarbeiter“ für manuelle Arbeitsabläufe in Produktion, Logistik und Service an.

Der Assistent unterstützt vor allem neue Mitarbeiter, Auszubildende und Zeitarbeiter Schritt für Schritt mit mehrsprachigen personalisierten Arbeitsanweisungen und Bedienungsanleitungen. Zusätzlich zu unseren Mobile Apps auch Alexa-ähnlich auf der Sprachebene, wenn die Hände zum Arbeiten frei bleiben sollen.

Zur Website

Tracks

Tracks entwickelt KI-basierte prädiktive Kraftstoffmanagement-Services für den Straßengüterverkehr. Diese helfen LKW-Flottenbetreibern Kraftstoff und CO2-Emissionen zu sparen. Basierend auf den Kraftstoffanalysen wird Tracks 2022 außerdem einen Platooning-Service anbieten, durch den das flottenübergreifende ad-hoc Platooning auf europäischen Straßen ermöglicht wird.

Dabei sind die von Tracks angebotenen Software-Produkte hardwareunabhängig, denn sie verwenden die rFMS-Daten der bereits vorhandenen Telematiksysteme der Fahrzeuge.
So kann das Unternehmen jede LKW-Flotte unabhängig von der Flottengröße, dem LKW-Hersteller und der installierten Telematikeinheit bedienen.

Zur Website

Zolitron

Zolitron ist eine energie- und kommunikationsautarke Sensorplattform. Mittels robuster Sensoren leitet Zolitron Umgebungsdaten ab, macht diese für Infrastruktur- und Logistikprozesse zugänglich und analysiert sie.

Zolitron sammelt, ähnlich wie bei der menschlichen Wahrnehmung über den Multisensoren Informationen: Bewegung, Temperatur, GPS und Magnetfelder. Im zweiten Schritt werden diese Rohdaten durch künstliche Intelligenz über selbstlernende Algorithmen, wie im Gehirn, in der Z-Cloud Analytics Plattform analysiert. Die Technologie „Micro-Energy-Harvesting“ lässt die Sensoren ganz ohne Kabel und Batterien bis zu zehn Jahre wartungsfrei arbeiten.

Zur Website

Ehemalige Startups

Aus den vergangenen startport-Jahrgängen sind erfolgreiche Unternehmen hervorgegangen. Hier unsere Alumni im Überblick: